Home » Five Minute Friday » ~Quiet? No, Not Really {Another Five Minute Friday post}

~Quiet? No, Not Really {Another Five Minute Friday post}

It’s that time again. Five Minute Friday.

A bunch of us gather at Lisa-Jo Baker’s corner of the ‘net and write on one topic for 5 minutes straight.

No editing. No filtering.  It’s wildly liberating. Check it out here> http://lisajobaker.com/2012/11/five-minute-friday-quiet/

QUIET.

This is funny. My house is so NOT quiet right now. It is 11 p.m. here and my daughter is playing her guitar in the living room. Another daughter is eating lasagna of all things at this hour!  Another daughter is …..I have no idea. She’s not sleeping.

My son is on his computer and my husband has gone to bed.

But besides all that I have 5 teenage boys in my basement. Laughing, joking, playing video games. We are so NOT used to this.   We offered up our home to be used for billets for a provincial youth retreat this weekend. The kids don’t have school tomorrow and they started tonight. 400 kids and leaders and wow~NOISE.

I love my quiet solitude. I like after 11 when everyone goes to bed and I bath or read or watch TV.  Quiet is Heaven to me.  But quiet also means a lack of activity and puh-lease~we have had 3 years of NOTHING happening in our home. It’s WAY past time.   So here I am: 5 boys(and their leader is coming later) in a house typically full of girls.     I prepped for this 3 night stint with deodorant, deodorizers, shower gels and extra towels.  Also, chips, jelly beans, chocolate milk and a bunch of other stuff my kids are wondering if they can sneak a sample of.

Yes, I love quiet. But not this weekend. This weekend….there SHALL be noise.  And I love it.

17 thoughts on “~Quiet? No, Not Really {Another Five Minute Friday post}

  1. Love this post! It reminds me of when my family hosts couchsurfing guests. We never know exactly what to expect but we are ready to meet someone who will soon be like family to us. Oh, so blessed. I’m looking forward to reading how this all turns out! What a blessing you are to these boys!!

    • I underestimated the amount of chocolate milk and “real food” I needed for late night snacks. But other than that….everyone was fed and we all survived despite the very little amount of sleep. Wow….boys have energy!

  2. For everything there is a season, eh? As a youth pastor….I’m so very thankful for homes that are offered in worship and love to young people. May God bless your weekend!!!

  3. Oh my! You are going to have so much FUN! My husband is a youth pastor so I know of which you speak. And, we are getting ready to embark on our own youth retreat this weekend! Praying God will bless you and yours as much as I know He is going to bless the girls we are ministering to at ours! :)

    • I hope your weekend was wonderful Mindy. And now, maybe you can catch up on sleep? That’s what I did today. So tiring but nice to have a house full and all that goes with it.

  4. I love that you are a brave brave woman and are opening your home to all this lovely noise and chaos. I have a 12 year old son and when his friends are all over it gets LOUD and although I crave quiet, it’s a beautiful gift to be able to join in their noise and give a loving place for them to gather.

  5. I had a sleepover once with my 12yo daughter and that put me over the top. My boys tend to have smaller sleepovers :) There is nothing like the hustle and bustle of family and friends!

    • I have always said 2 or 3 only for sleepovers. It’s exhausting. I found that I waited to go to bed till after it was quiet(after 2 a.m.) and up before everyone else….so tired. 3 nights is a lot!!

  6. ya Juanita and Leroy! At the time it is all about what you are doing and giving but at some point in your life you will most likely be surprised by some one you have had in your home coming back to you(maybe an accidental meeting) and telling you how much they were blessed by your hospitality. Keep up the God work!

  7. Hi Juanita
    I am visiting from Lisa-Jo’s and couldn’t help but chuckle when I read this. You remind me so much of myself a few years back when my boys were still boisterous, teenagers, still at home. My baby has also spread His wings and this is our first empty nest year. Wow, it is quiet!! I am looking forward to the holidays when they come home from university etc. and can’t wait to cook up a storm again! Take a deep breath, dear one. This to will pass for it has come to go, not to stay!
    Much love to you
    Mia

  8. How fun! I would love to have a basement to house extra kids! :) This reminds me that today I will have a houseful because each kids is bringing a couple friends home… that’s the kind of quiet I look forward to! :)

Leave a Reply

