Home » Christmas » What Are You Listening To? {Christmas Music}

What Are You Listening To? {Christmas Music}

I love Christmas music. Well, most of it. Some of it(the more recent stuff) is horrid. The pop divas and pop boy bands and pop icons….they should stay away from sacred Christmas.

But I have favourites and some are in fact recent recordings. Here’s some MUST listen tos for Christmas in our house:

Amy Grant’s Tennessee Christmas.  

 

I just CANNOT begin the season without this. Very often, November 1.  It just warms me from the inside out and helps me to calm down, focus and be joyful.

Kenny and Dolly: 

How fun is it when Dolly sings “Christmas Time’s A Comin’ ” ? The best!

But even better is Hard Rock Candy Christmas….chokes me up every time.

Elvis’ Christmas Album 

 

I particularly love “It Won’t Be Christmas Without You”….so tender…..

 

Boney M: 

No Christmas is complete without this rendition of Mary’s Boy Child

Burl Ives: My mom still has this record. There is nothing quite like Burl Ives(who I always thought was Santa) singing Rudolph or Have a Holly Jolly Christmas.

Willie Nelson’s Pretty Paper:  Makes me cry every time- such a beautiful song.

Bing Crosby: Classic. No one sings White Christmas or Silver Bells like he does.

 

And now for some new favourites which I can’t get enough of:

LOVE all of it. It is so good from start to finish.

For a truly worshipful Christmas this one is awesome.

LOVE LOVE LOVE! Winter Snow and Come Thou Long Expected Jesus are my favs.

Seriously, don’t knock it. This is FANTASTIC. It is funny, sentimental, funny, inspirational, uplifting and downhome good. They can SANG!

Michael Buble’s Christmas album:

For the crooner and for the dinner music- awesome.

 

I could go on and on and on….I love Christmas music. Honorable mention to

Faith Hill’s – A Baby Changes Everything

The Judds- Beautiful Star of Bethlehem

Selah- Light of the Stable

Alabama Christmas

The Forrester Sisters- Little Toy Trains

Merle Haggard- A Country Christmas

Okay….stopping…..now you….what is your favourite Christmas song/album?

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “What Are You Listening To? {Christmas Music}

  1. I totally agree with your Amy Grant, Paul Baloche, Elvis, Michael Buble & Chris Tomlin. Over the years I have added Point of Grace: A Christmas Story (1999), Rebecca St James: Christmas (1997), Victor McQuade: Key Impressions Christmas (1999), Francesca Battistelli: Christmas (2012), Josh Groban: Noel (2007), Tom Jackson’s Singing for Supper On Tour (2006) and most recently Sidewalk Prophets: Merry Christmas to You (2012/13). I have a pretty eclectic collection :) Merry Christmas!!

  2. All I Want for Christmas is You – THIS Version by Lisa Layne (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awG4H9h1STM), Christmas in America by Kenny Rodgers, Welcome to Our World, Chris Rice, God Has Come to Us by Sheila Walsh (she’s in MY KEY!) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFKFPyroArU) All is Well by the American Boy Choir, all of Andy Williams and Evie Tournquist’s Vintage stuff, and several R&B Contemporary Christian songs that I can’t find a link to (Deck the Hallz is just lively fun). The Muppets Bless Us All chokes me up, as does Bless This House by Gladys Knight and the Pips. Anything by Mannheim Steamroller is excellent, and I love the quirky unusual stuff that respects the occasion. I even enjoy one in Native American language Huron Carol: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6IG6F6E5Ac&list=PLLybk7tzt-gw7AyndyBm2QTVhZOhhgl6i.

    Ok, I admit to being a Christmas music junkie, lol.

Leave a Reply

