That darn snail song.

When I was about 10 years old, I attended a VBS(Vacation Bible School) at a church near my home.  We attended a church down the street but friends had invited us to this particular VBS.   I had never been to such a thing.  Growing up in the country way north of anywhere meant we made our own fun, our own camps, our own church.   So here I was, along with my younger sister, sitting in a pew listening to kids sing songs that I had never heard.  I think we went 4 or 5 days that week, I can’t even remember. But I do remember one thing.   The snail song.   If you’ve heard it, you know what I’m talking about.  After nearly 30 years I can’t get it out of my head and it haunts me day and night sometimes.  But not all the time. No, this song only pops into my brain when I’m tired, frustrated, exasperated.   It comes to me at night, sometimes it comes to me when I’m driving.  Still other times I can hear a choir of happy children singing it when I am angry with one of my kids for something rather insignificant and ridiculous.  Lately I’ve been hearing it when all I want is to be done with this never-ending saga of house-selling that we have found ourselves in.

“Have patience, have patience, don’t be in such a hurry.

When you get impatient, you only start to worry.

Remember, remember that God is patient too

And think of all the times when others had to wait for you.”

If I have EVER made anyone wait for me, I sure hope they forgive me because this really sucks.

One thought on “That darn snail song.

Leave a Reply

