Feeling homesick

There was a Kenny Chesney song released in the last year.  Catchy tune; I even found myself singing along.  Here’s some of the lyrics:

Someday I want to see those streets of gold

In my halo

But I wouldn’t mind waiting at least

A hundred years or so

Everybody wants go to heaven

It beats the other place there ain’t no doubt

Everybody wants go to heaven

But nobody wanna go now

Everybody wants go to heaven

Hallelujah let me hear you shout

Everybody wants go to heaven

But nobody wants go now

I think I speak for the crowd

Nobody wanna go now yeah

Everybody wants to go to heaven

Get their wings and fly around

Everybody wants to go to heaven

But nobody wants to go now.

When I was a teenager I remember praying “please God, don’t come back yet, I really want to get married.” Quite honestly I was shocked when I got married because I really thought the rapture was going to happen before 1990!   My next desperate praying  was to become a mom.  OH how I wanted to hold my own baby and experience the joys of motherhood.  Once again, my prayers were answered! 4 times!  

I’m thankful to God, I really am.  But I have noticed a disturbing trend in the past 10 years~ both inside the church and outside of it.   The number of people talking about the after-life is dropping.  In fact, bring up Heaven or Hell and people become uncomfortable and change the subject or they crack a few jokes. 

The reality of our faith is that we are called and commanded to go out into the world and preach the GOSPEL of Jesus Christ which includes(it’s a pretty big part actually) the fact that we , who are the Chosen, the Children of God, are going to go to Heaven when HE chooses to take us or when we’re all caught up together in the air. 

John 14: 1  Jesus says “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. 2In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4You know the way to the place where I am going.”

About 20 years ago there was a saying going around : “Too heavenly minded to be any earthly good”.  I understand that sometimes it has been easy for Christians to shut themselves away behind church doors and sing the hymns about Heaven and not do anything else.  Clearly this is not a good use of our time and it certainly is not fulfilling the Great Commission which Jesus set before us: to go into ALL the world baptizing, preaching and teaching.    However, going the other direction and providing feel-good sermons, programs, entertainment and “fluff” theology is no better and perhaps even worse.  Jesus IS coming back SOON.  The signs are everywhere.  No, we don’t know when.  But God has given us enough “hints” in His word for us to not be sitting back foolishly.

Matthew 24: 

37As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. 38For in the days before the flood, people were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day Noah entered the ark; 39and they knew nothing about what would happen until the flood came and took them all away. That is how it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. 40Two men will be in the field; one will be taken and the other left. 41Two women will be grinding with a hand mill; one will be taken and the other left.

 42Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come. 43But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into. 44So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.

I challenge you to go pull out a hymn book(or online if you don’t have one).  Select the ones about Heaven.  There are many.  Read/Listen to them.  It’s time for us to get our eyes off of ourselves, our problems, the things that we think we need, the stuff we want , the distractions that take all of our time.   It’s time for us to remember that we’re only visiting here and our home is waiting.  

Jesus, come quickly.

Leave a Reply

