But God…..

“But MOMMMMMM!”….have your kids ever said that?  Mine do.  Grrrrr. It’s a mother’s nuisance call.  I remember my mother saying “There are no BUTS!”   It was Mom’s word and it was final and you didn’t question it. 

In the past couple of days I have been trying to keep a stiff upper lip; trying NOT to say “but God!”   I’m trying and sometimes I feel like I’m failing.  I don’t want to doubt, I’m trying to hold on to hope.  But the enemy is attacking.  The enemy of our souls; the enemy who wants nothing more than for me to whine like a spoiled child ranting at God for unanswered prayers and broken promises.   I won’t do it.  I won’t give in.  

My husband is 800 kms away tired, stressed and lonely.   He’s been trying to finish up the remnants of packing at our other place and tie up some jobs on the business.   It seems like every few hours when I call he’s more frustrated and further behind so I’ve stopped calling.   Couple that with our bank wanting one more piece of information and not being too quick about putting through our paperwork for this mortgage and we have the makings of a real stress bomb.    On Tuesday we will be at the point of needing to take conditions off the purchase of the house we’re living in so that the sale can proceed for a posession date of October 1.  The owners aren’t too keen on giving us an extension.  This is all getting to be a bit much.   And then Sunday’s coming…..do you remember my post about Sundays?   Ya, well, we can all see where this is heading.   And so, I pull out my Bible.  Psalm 18 is where I come to.

30 As for God, his way is perfect;
       the word of the LORD is flawless.
       He is a shield
       for all who take refuge in him.

 31 For who is God besides the LORD ?
       And who is the Rock except our God?

 32 It is God who arms me with strength
       and makes my way perfect.

 33 He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
       he enables me to stand on the heights.

I had to smile at the last line as I had just come from town and watching all of the hills with the deer and antelope.  From one high spot, I can see everything for miles.   The Lord is listening and He does hear me.  HIS WAY IS PERFECT.

I’m so thankful that I have His Word to encourage me when all else seems to be a mess.   He is my rock.

And back to that “But God” part…..

Ephesians 2: 4 But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, 5 even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), 6 and raised us up together, and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, 7 that in the ages to come He might show the exceeding riches of His grace in His kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. 8 For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, 9 not of works, lest anyone should boast. 10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

