Encouraging words

My good friend Julia gave me a book for my birthday at the beginning of the summer.  I think in one sense she was trying to be cute but in reality she has gifted me with an abundance of encouragement.   The book is Stormie Omartian’s “Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On”.  It was first published in 1999 and it’s gone on to be published again just recently.   I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone regardless of where you’re at in your life.  

I only started to read it last week.  The book is laid out in chapters that are really meant to be weekly Bible studies but I’ve been bulldozing through a couple chapters a night sometimes.   Last night it was like she was speaking to me and I just wanted and needed more encouragement.   I would like to share just a couple of quotes that really struck me.  Today I am sitting by my phone and believing in faith that God will do a miracle in our house transaction financing and bring about an end to the anxiety of having our possession day approach(in 2 days) with yet no legalities firmed up.

Page 33: My experience taught me that even in the darkest times, we should never doubt God.  Even when it may appear like our life is over and He has forgotten us, He is actually growing us into our future.  Sometimes what seems like the darkest step we’ve ever been on comes just before the brightest light we’ve ever experienced.

Page65: We always hope that God will lift us above our circumstances. And sometimes He does.  But much of the time He walks us through them so we can learn a new dimension of His power……….When God does a miracle, He does a complete work.

Page 92: I didn’t know then that although the wilderness may seem like nowhere at the time, it is somewhere if that’s where God wants you.  For it’s there He will prepare you for the good thing He is about to do in your life. It’s there you will be thoroughly convinced that you won’t get anywhere or accomplish anything lasting without Him.

Page 104: Even if you are certain God has given you a vision or dream for your future, He will still ask you to surrender it to Him so thoroughly that you will think it’s as good as dead.  God doesn’t want any part of you to be unsurrendered, not even the dreams He has put in your heart.  If you give Him all of your dreams, then you will see which ones are born of His Spirit. Pursuing the ones that aren’t will only lead to misery, frustration and unfulfillment. Dying to your dreams is difficult, but if you reach up and take your Heavenly Father’s hand, He will shine His light on the situation and walk you through the process step by step.

I gotta go…the appraiser just called and he’s on his way.  God just made a way where there seemed to be no way!

2 thoughts on “Encouraging words

  1. Awwww…..that’s so nice!! Thank you for sharing that! I’m so sorry you had heartburn over it but hey, sometimes God uses whatever to make it work!! It’s a really good book…I’ll loan it to you when I’m done! 🙂
    XOXO

  2. Juan ~ now that I’ve read this I feel like I can share with you the experience I had when looking for your birthday present.
    Originally, I didn’t intend on buying you a book but somehow ended up in Chapters on my way to my fave scrapbooking store. After wandering aimlessly around for a while I found myself in the Spirituality section. I browsed the shelves and the whole time I’m thinking to myself “Juanita probably doesn’t need this….or that….” I picked up a book here and there but just kept putting them back. Then I crouched down and found Stormie’s book on the lowest shelf. I took it out, read the front and back cover, flipped through and read a couple of pages. I thought it was interesting but put it back down. I walked away and went to another section soon I felt a burning sensation in my chest ~ I figured it was heart burn 🙂 ~ I was drawn back to THAT book. I picked it up ~ burning sensation in chest went away. Put the book down ~ burning sensation came back. I did this about 5 times. I seriously thought I was losing my mind.
    Finally, I just bought the book just to stop the acid reflux. I wasn’t even sure I was going to give it to you.
    I definitely feel that God’s hand was on me that day…I was meant to buyTHAT book for you. You were meant to read THOSE words this week.
    I just thank God for giving me heart burn and not tipping the whole book shelf on top of me to get my attention. 🙂

    I pray for you every day and I hope that you can remain encouraged in His word and his love for you.

    I love you like a sister!

    Julia

Leave a Reply

