2010 Thanksgiving is in the History Books….and not a minute too soon.

First of all, I’d like to start out by saying that I love this time of year.  I love the warm autumn sun, turkey dinners, pumpkin pies and hanging out with family.  Thanksgiving is a season, not a day and it warms my heart from the outside in.  But this Thanksgiving took on a whole new theme . 

I have no idea where to start or what to include in this little tribute to Thanksgiving ’10.  Do I begin with the backroads trip from our house to Regina where we saw unimaginable carnage?  The furry critters that gave up their lives just to see what’s on the other side of the road? 

Do I tell you about my mother’s sewer problem and how the City of Regina refuses to upgrade their underground plumbing?  The kind of problem that means we can’t flush too often, can’t shower very long(try not at all), can’t do dishes unless we do it in a dishpan and throw out the water in the back yard ? Ya, we were living in 1955 again for this weekend.

Or how about I tell you how my husband gifted me with his nasty cold.  I self medicated in order to feel better while driving .  It worked for a bit and then I had to pull out the big guns: Tylenol Complete. Is it a cruel joke that the makers of said product chose to camoflauge the  words “non-drowsy”?  Because at 2 a.m and 4:25 a.m and 6:15 a.m. when I checked the clock to see how long it had been since I WASN’T sleeping it sure didn’t seem to be funny. 

Or perhaps we should discuss how on the way TO Regina we had to listen to the Roughriders lose to Toronto and then on the way HOME we had to listen to the Stamps lose very badly to Montreal.  Ya, maybe we should talk about that.

No, it’s Thanksgiving after all.  So, I will choose to ignore these little nuisances and focus on the good:

-Movie out with our best friends from Calgary(they can’t help it that they HAVE to  go to Regina occasionally too)                

-Seeing “old” friends in church on Sunday; some I hadn’t seen in 20 years or more.         

-Turkey dinner with my mom and my uncle, followed by pumpkin pie and Phase 10

-Brunch with lifelong friends in Regina on Monday.(even though Leroy was wearing a Stamps jersey the owner still seated us. )

-Playing Roadkill Bingo with my family and filling up our card very quickly~ we even got the bonus in the centre~ a MOOSE….ya, in Saskatchewan, unbelievable!

Thanksgiving 2010 which incidentally fell on 10/10/10(we do turkey on Sundays to all of you looking at the calendar waving your fists that I have my dates wrong)  will forever be ingrained in my mind as one for the history books.

One thought on “2010 Thanksgiving is in the History Books….and not a minute too soon.

Leave a Reply

