Steadfast

We have an abundance, a plethera if you will, of wonderful words in our language that we rarely use.  And often, we misuse the best of these words.  Today, I was thinking about PATIENCE and what it means.   Here is the definition I found on Wikipedia~ the internet dummies’ guide to all things!

Patience is the state of endurance under difficult circumstances, which can mean persevering in the face of delay or provocation without acting on annoyance/anger in a negative way; or exhibiting forbearance when under strain, especially when faced with longer-term difficulties. It is also used to refer to the character trait of being steadfast.

Psalm 112:7 says:    He will have no fear of bad news;
       his heart is steadfast, trusting in the LORD.

Isaiah 26:3 says: You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.

Interesting how both of these verses link being steadfast to trusting in God.  My  journey of faith has lead me to this place of patience, peace and hopefully a level of steadfastness in spite of the storm raging around us.  So many questions have come up this week: Why are we here? Did we do the right thing? What were we thinking anyways?  How are we going to manage?

Through it all, I hear a small, still voice repeating over and over, “TRUST ME”.  It’s hard to do.  But I know that faith is not seeing and THEN believing; Faith is BELIEVING and then seeing.  God doesn’t ask us to support His will for us with facts and proof.  That is what the world asks.  God requires us to trust Him DESPITE the facts and proof. 

Jotham grew powerful because he walked steadfastly before the LORD his God. ~2 Chronicles 27:6

In Genesis 22 we read how God asked Abraham to sacrifice his only son.  Abraham, though conflicted I’m sure, obeyed God and God honored his faith that day by providing a ram for a sacrifice, sparing Isaac and promising Abraham that he would be the father of many nations.  Could Abraham have seen the outcome of that day when he first set out that morning?  I doubt it.  But he remained steadfast is his trust of his God.

I can’t really say that I have any more answers than I did 6 weeks ago.  I don’t really know what the short term or long term futures look like for our family.  All I know is that God is with us; He’s guiding us.  He hasn’t left us and we trust Him.  I get impatient at times and I worry.  But I have peace.   I don’t like waiting but I will wait because God has asked me to.

Create in me a pure heart, O God,
       and renew a steadfast spirit within me. ~ Psalm 51:10

One thought on “Steadfast

Leave a Reply

