Consider this your SNOW intervention!

I always find great delight at this time of year when Calgarians fight their way through the real first snowfall of the season.  Even though I haven’t lived there for more than 4 years I still get a kick out of the news teams covering the “mayhem on Calgary streets”.  It never ceases to amaze me at the complaining and unpreparedness of these people~ you live there, you know it’s coming and yet for some reason it shocks you and catches you off guard EVERY time!

Now, I am a snow-lover! I know, I know~ WHAT?   Well, here’s the thing; this may shock you , but I was actually born and raised in Canada of all places.  Yes, it’s hard to believe but my whole life I’ve actually experienced winter on an annual basis.  It really is hard to believe, I mean, I must be a rarity or something.  I have only fond memories of snow.  Yes, I have spun out on black ice(the reason we now get snow tires regularly) and yes I have hit the ditch more than once.   But the great thing about hitting the ditch in the winter is that for the most part, you’re just flying into a big , fluffy mattress that sucks you in and keeps you from hurting yourself too badly.   But let’s not be so hard on the snow.  The roads and road conditions are problems that you can easily avoid~ just stay home.

***GASP*** Stay home?? Yes, just stay put!! One thing that snowstorms have taught me is the value of “snowdays”.  Oh, how I love them.  When it’s too snowy, poor visibility and harsh windchills threaten , there’s nothing quite as cozy as everyone staying home.  It pays to be prepared~ milk, bread, eggs~ the essentials.  And then….the day is yours!

I particularly look forward to snowdays before Christmas~ filled with hot cocoa, Christmas music, decorating the tree and making sugar cookies!  How can anyone be against such frivolity?

There is nothing as beautiful as snow falling.  There is nothing like the fun of snowmobiling through fresh powder.  Christmas lights always look WAY better against a snow-covered rooftop.  And let’s face it, a white covered ground looks so much nicer than brown trees, brown grass and lifeless landscapes.

For all you complainers, remember this:

GOD MADE THE SNOW just like he made warm summer days, spring flowers and multi-colored fall leaves.  You only appreciate the summer so much more when you’ve had winter days to sit and dream about sunshine, warm beaches and heat.

Phillipians 2:14: Do EVERYTHING without COMPLAINING…

1 Thessalonians 5:18  Be thankful in ALL circumstances for THIS is God’s will for you…

James 1:2  When troubles come against you CONSIDER IT AN OPPORTUNITY for joy! (love that one)

And obviously, God loves snow because the only scriptures about snow are rather favourable and PURE in spirit…

“Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than SNOW.” (Psalm 51:7 RSV)

“His appearance was like lightning, and his raiment white as SNOW.” (Matthew 28:1-3)

“Come now, let us reason together, says The Lord: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as SNOW; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.” (Isaiah 1:18)

“Like the cold of SNOW in the time of harvest is a faithful messenger to those who send him, he refreshes the spirit of his masters.” (Proverbs 25:13)……see, it’s REFRESHING!! 🙂

And then there’s this one; God created the seasons and their individual characteristics for beauty and a purpose:

“He gives snow like wool; He scatters hoarfrost like ashes. He casts forth His ice like morsels; who can stand before His cold? He sends forth His word, and melts them; He makes His wind blow, and the waters flow” (Psalm 147:16-18 RSV)

So, all you complainers, get over it! We live in Canada where we do in fact see 4 seasons! Yes, some years some seasons are short but they are all there.  This is a time for rest and refreshing.  Stop worrying about the things you cannot control and embrace these days as a gift because that is exactly what they are!

And now…here’s a few of my favourite snow pics:

 

Wonderful fluffy snow!

My kind of snowstorm!

Crisp winter morning sunrise.

Beautiful Hoarfrost on a winter morning

It’s fun~ really, it is!

 

A snowy cutline ready for snowmobiling!

One thought on “Consider this your SNOW intervention!

  1. I too love snow! I’d rather it be cold with lots of snow than cold with brown yuckiness. I cannot imagine setting up for Christmas and getting excited about this time of year without snow. I too get exasperated with people who complain about snow – go live somewhere else. I love the changing seasons – there is always something to look forward to! We are so blessed to be able to experience the creativity of God as we get the whole gammet of seasons. Isn’t he an awesome creative God?! Enjoy the snow!

Leave a Reply

