Procrastinators Unite!

I confess.  I am declaring this my day of freedom from my secret.  Yes, you guessed it, I am a procrastinator.

**GASP!!**

Shocks ringing out all over the world right now! I know, it’s almost too hard to imagine but yes, it is true.

Wikipedia describes it this way:

procrastination refers to the act of replacing high-priority actions or tasks with low-priority actions, and thus putting off important tasks to a later time. Psychologists often cite such behavior as a mechanism for coping with the anxiety associated with starting or completing any task or decision.

OH. MY. WORD!!! That is so me!!

I have been a procrastinator my whole life; this is nothing new.  But I think it’s getting worse for a variety of reasons , none of which I’m interested in getting into at this time(I’m procrastinating).

Yesterday, I heard and author on talk radio yesterday talking about his book, The Procrastination Equation.  I was somewhat comforted to hear that procrastinators are NOT lazy people.  Rather, we(I’m embracing this new found fold I have entered) would rather do mindless, simple tasks where we get instant gratification than tackle the bigger tasks demanding our time.    Perhaps this explains why I leave everything till the last minute.  Now I know why I thrive on having company in order to get my house cleaned and laundry done.

I probably should have visited a shrink years ago.  Am I too old to get out of this wicked pattern?

Lord help me!

Leave a Reply

