There’s knowing and then there’s KNOWLEDGE…

When I was a girl, my mom “encouraged” my sisters and I to memorize certain passages of scripture.  I remember that one particular passage came with a promise.   If we would memorize it all, then she would sew us a new skirt. And not just any skirt, but a corduroy skirt.  Yes, I am a child of the seventies and yes, my mother sewed our clothes.  It’s kind of funny, but back then getting a new skirt was a pretty big deal.   The passage to memorize was Psalm 91…..a psalm about safety and the protection of the Almighty.  It is the passage my Grandfather quoted over and over again while trapped under a big tractor wheel in the mud for several hours a few years ago.

Memorizing scripture used to be a pretty “cool” thing to do.  We memorized at home , at church, in Sunday School.  I memorized at Pioneer Clubs and at youth group, at summer camp and while on a short term summer mission when I was 16.  That year we memorized the entire chapters of Philippians 3 and 4.  So many wonderful verses, so much rich teaching.  Knowledge.

Ecclesiastes 2:

To the person who pleases him, God gives wisdom, knowledge and happiness, but to the sinner he gives the task of gathering and storing up wealth to hand it over to the one who pleases God. This too is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.

Hosea 4:

my people are destroyed from lack of knowledge.

“Because you have rejected knowledge,
I also reject you as my priests;
because you have ignored the law of your God,
I also will ignore your children.

Romans 1:28

Furthermore, just as they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, so God gave them over to a depraved mind, so that they do what ought not to be done.

Many of us KNOW that we should memorize and many of us KNOW in a general sense what the Word of God says.  But do we really KNOW the Author?  Do we really KNOW what God is saying to us?   When I started this blog part of my intention was a little self-centered.   I wanted to share my faith with all of you but I also wanted to make myself accountable to reading and studying the word.  You see, it’s hard to do.  Why?  Because the Enemy of our souls doesn’t want us to.  It’s really that simple, and that complicated.   Reading the Holy Word of God breathes life into our very souls.  We long for the sweet communion of our Creator.   But as fulfilling and wonderful as it is, we find excuses and reasons why we can’t, why we don’t and in the end , we lose .  And so, by sharing the precious words that my memory has stored and by seeking more and more, I am accountable to study and to gain the knowledge found within the pages of the oldest and dearest BOOK ever written.   I cannot share with you that which I have not KNOWN myself.  And so, I hope that you will allow me to continue to share these words of life and the hope that they bring.   But do not be content to just read here or skim over a passage here and there.   You must commit yourself to study and meditation.  Like the verse says,  we will perish for a lack of knowledge. Our very existence hinges upon the knowledge that makes its way 13 inches from our minds to our hearts.

Psalm 119:

9 How can a young person stay on the path of purity?
By living according to your word.
10 I seek you with all my heart;
do not let me stray from your commands.
11 I have hidden your word in my heart
that I might not sin against you.
12 Praise be to you, LORD;
teach me your decrees.
13 With my lips I recount
all the laws that come from your mouth.
14 I rejoice in following your statutes
as one rejoices in great riches.
15 I meditate on your precepts
and consider your ways.
16 I delight in your decrees;
I will not neglect your word.

Galatians 6: 7-8

7 Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. 8 Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.

Leave a Reply

