When LOVE takes hold Part 2: The principle of the promise

Yesterday  I posted about a supernatural match made in Heaven~ the beginnings of a life long relationship between two people who have waited their entire adult lives for God to give them that one special person with whom they could spend their lives.  People keep asking me if I’m a matchmaker and can I “hook them up” with someone.  Ha! First of all the term “hook up” makes me barf in my mouth a bit and secondly, I have no matchmaking skills whatsoever.

On that night, when Jenna asked me if I knew of a single guy in his late 30’s…..well, let’s just say that her reputation preceded her.  And not only her, but the potential guy and girl….their reputations preceded them as well.

Let me explain:   When I was 19 and starting out on my dating journey with my now husband, I was not looking for recreational dating fun. I was looking for my life’s mate.  I was looking for a husband. Even at a young age, the method and course of dating mattered to me.  They should matter to everyone.

My love penned a note to me which he left on my car windshield. He was very intentional about wording and where it would lead.  It was a significant moment in our lives. It was the beginning of our journey together.  I’m not saying every guy should write a girl a note to ask her out, but I am saying that there needs to be more intentionality and purpose when a guy asks a girl out.  And no, the purpose should not be to get into her pants.

It sickens and saddens me that this generation(and a couple before) have looked upon dating as a superficial means to a superficial end.    Typically, there are girls and guys on any  given night of the week “hooking up” for the first and last time with people they barely know and have no intention of ever getting to know.  The disregard for feelings and emotions is a big reason why dating has become a joke and marriages are grounded on little more than sex.

When someone sets their mind and their heart on the things of God and pursues His plan, they are building their reputation.  You can want to date, dream about finding “the one”, drool over wedding magazines(I did), plan that perfect day, look for a guy, hunt for a girl~ you can do it all  and still keep yourself pure and your mind set on God’s plan.  God’s plan may not be for you to fall in love at 19 or 25 or even 35.  God’s plan may involve years or even decades of trusting Him with your future.  It’s not easy.  I haven’t done it but I have seen some who have.  We live in a world bombarded by the free and easy way of life~ if you want it, just do it.  If you crave it, have it.  If you dream it, live it.    But that’s usually not God’s way.  God’s way is the way of Moses and the Israelites: 40 years roaming around the desert.   God’s way is Abraham and Sarah~ having their first baby in their 90’s.  God’s way is Mary and Joseph~ a virgin birth, an unmarried mother to be, an outcast couple.   God’s way is Paul in prison~ still preaching Jesus, boasting in His Saviour, not complaining.

Back to our couple and Jenna, the matchmaker(and me).  I knew it was more than a random coincidence and more than just a chance that these two would work out. Why? Because Jenna seeks her Lord.   I’ve known that about her for years~ she asks God and she listens….and waits for His answers.  I’ve experienced and witnessed first hand her convictions.  She reads the Word, believes the Word and receives the Word.   So, when she told me that this girl was one in a million, I whole heartedly trusted her.

And both Donna and David’s reputations have preceded them as well~ loyal, Godly, trustworthy, servant-hearted, pure, seekers of God~ not seekers of self.   And not only that, but anyone and everyone who knows these two affirms and confirms their reputations time and time again.  Consistency.  That is key.  When you follow God and the principles that He has laid out in His word all that can follow is blessings.  Because that is His promise.   God’s word is full of promises.

Today, as I talked to David and heard his heart.  He was clearly fumbling for the words to express how he knew that God was the author and perfecter of this love story.  There are no words.  How can words even begin to describe a love story that began years ago? A prophecy given to a friend for her friend,  a confirmation and ultimately the intangible dream becoming the tangible, touchable reality.  It doesn’t make sense to our human minds.  It is not “conventional” .  It is not what we have come to believe as “traditional”.  The mockers and scoffers have already come out to play but their noise is being drowned out by the peace that passes all understanding.  The gentle, guiding hand of the Creator of Love is crafting an amazing love story.  It is incredible.

The promises of God:

Psalm 37:3

Trust in the LORD and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
4 Take delight in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

5 Commit your way to the LORD;
trust in him and he will do this:
6 He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn,
your vindication like the noonday sun.

7 Be still before the LORD
and wait patiently for him;

Matthew 6:33

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Proverbs 3:

My son, do not forget my teaching,
but keep my commands in your heart,
2 for they will prolong your life many years
and bring you peace and prosperity.

3 Let love and faithfulness never leave you;
bind them around your neck,
write them on the tablet of your heart.
4 Then you will win favor and a good name
in the sight of God and man.

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

7 Do not be wise in your own eyes;
fear the LORD and shun evil.
8 This will bring health to your body
and nourishment to your bones.

 

 

Leave a Reply

