How can I pray….

I know what my needs are. They’re right in front of me.  Some days there’s too many to count.  I tend to stop by the 10th item and just say , “Lord, you know. ”   And He does.  But that doesn’t mean that I should stop praying.   But you know, sometimes praying for yourself seems, well, selfish.  Does that make sense?  I need….. I want….Could you…..Please…..ya, it’s all so self-focused.

Tonight, I’d like to pray for you.  What are your needs?  As bad as my life seems some days, I have to say that we are blessed people.  We have our health.  My kids are self-sufficient and independent individuals.  We live with freedom to speak and write, attend school and church, visit family and friends….it’s all good.

But I know that many of you are struggling.  Jobs are being lost, bills are going unpaid, children are sick and injured, parents are dying, husbands are drinking too much, wives are depressed.  There is so much need.  And we are all here to hold up each other.  We are here to support, encourage, bless and pray.  Pray.  Just pray.  Sometimes knowing that someone else is sharing the burden is all that is needed to lift your spirits.

And so, I ask, if there is anything at all that I can pray for you.  You don’t even have to tell me specifically~ thankfully, the Lord already knows.  But He asks us to partner with Him~ to mobilize His hand of healing and help.

And as I pray and as you pray…..we will believe together in faith that what comes next is an answer.  It may not be the answer you or I want or expect, but there will be an answer.  And it will be good.  Because God is good.  This, I believe with all my heart.  A good God who hears and answers our prayers is waiting.

2 thoughts on “How can I pray….

  1. Feel free to send a prayer in my direction. I am feeling lousy, struggling to be happy with the way my life is going at the moment, my health dictated a change in career for me this spring. This is after I had only changed jobs a year ago and was finally settling in to working outside the home with some amazing people in a job I was doing very well at. Then boom, I in January I started experiencing terrible joint pain and I was diagnosed in March with Hypermobility Syndrome which may or may not be Ehlers Danlos Syndrome type 3, something I had never heard of until March. The doctors I have dealt with are not willing to take the time time listen to my concerns about wanting to pursue the EDS diagnosis. My employment insurance ran out at the end of May and I was faced with the choice of going back to sit at a desk for 8 hours a day in pain or perhaps go back to what I always go back to, taking in kids. I do not have the energy I once had and I had wanted to get out of childcare for a few years prior to finally accepting the job that I did. I was very picky about finding something just right that was Monday to Friday and paid decent since childcare was a great paying profession. I had wanted to so something new for myself, challenge myself and my law firm job did just that. The staff was amazing, they became like a family in the short 8 months that I was there. They rewarded me with raises and bonuses in that short time, and I had planned on staying there for a very long time. At the same time, those 8 months were a struggle. I missed being at home, I missed my friends that I would coffee with, I missed the kids and their parents terribly! I had watched one family’s girls for seven years, they were like my daughters! I missed being home after school when my own boys came home even though they were perfectly capable and functioned very well on their own for those 8 months.

    So here I am, slowly crawling back into my childcare business. I have a family back this week who I watched previously and had to say good bye to when I went out to work last May. Having them back means a lot to me. After just one day, it was as if they never left or that the past year did not happen except for the continuous aches and pains in my joints. I ask God why this all happened, why lead me out into the big scary world to try something totally new to me only to have me, a year later back to having kids here again. My husband is supportive even though I know he and the boys enjoyed a toy free house for the short time that they did.

    I was having a pretty good day yesterday until a neighbor came up to me and told me she overheard two ladies at our school’s track and field talking about me on Friday. She said it sounded like they didn’t even know who I was really but yet they were talking about how I had to quit a good job to go back to babysitting due to some ‘weird disease’ and how is she supposed to babysit if she can’t even work? I wish I knew exactly what was said or that I knew who these ladies even were and why I was their topic of gossip for the day. Actually I wish my neighbor hadn’t even told me what she’d overheard. So many people have told me that I am meant to be a childcare provider and Years ago I felt I had ‘God moments’ where I would get the feeling I was exactly where I was meant to be at that time. I also felt God was leading me to my law firm job since the entire staff seemed to be good Christian people, a complete change from people I have worked with outside the home in the past. Please pray for some renewed health for me, pray for wisdom to understand why the events of the past year have happened and one more thing, pray for my husband who has also started a new job this past month. I appreciate your post today. Is there anything you would like me and your other readers to pray for?

    • I certainly know how you feel. Been there so many times it seems. I have struggled with fibromyalgia for years and also ran a day home. Thankfully, I was friends with all of the families and they understood what I was dealing with. Sometimes you have to do what you can do and let God worry about the rest. I’ve had to learn(over and over again the hard way) that worry is a lack faith and each day all you can do is just focus on what’s in front of you and not what’s down the road 3 months from today or 6 months down the road. So hard to let God be God but we have to do it or we won’t have the peace and strength to get through the hard times. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

