It is Evening

Something about evening calls to me.  I cannot explain it but I am rejuvenated after 8 p.m. After a long , hot day~ there’s a cool quietness in the air. It’s calming.

I went out into the yard this evening to mow.  I love mowing, especially in the evening.  Cutting down all those weedy heads that stick out like bothersome pests. Our yard is nothing special~ not really a lawn but rather a matted mess of weeds and quack grass.  Not very soft under the feet or inviting.  Except after a mowing. In those moments, the lawn becomes an inviting, dreamy carpet.

The sun was setting, I hurried to finish my chores before it was too dark.  But pausing along the way~ I notice the glow of the sun against turning leaves.  The sunflowers too, are not so vibrant but bowing their heads~ as if in earnest prayer.  I am reminded: it is in these secret places of my yard that i am compelled to pray too.  Thankful for a loud motor, I hold nothing back. I call out to my Maker~ my evening Companion.  I ask for his mercies on my kids, my husband and our future.  I proclaim thanksgiving and anxiety in the same breath~ not unlike these flowers dying and living on the same stalk.

Revealed in evening’s soft light this humble yard becomes my sanctuary.  These trees and flowers:a congregation of praise.

I love evenings!

Psalm 55:6But I call to God,
and the LORD will save me.
17 Evening and morning and at noon
   I utter my complaint and moan,
   and he hears my voice.

Leave a Reply

