Revolution of Grace

How do I begin?

I’ve been thinking a lot about grace this week~ what it is, what it means.  And I was struck by something almost too obvious(it made me chuckle)~ my name’s literal meaning is “God’s gracious gift”.  I’ve known that my whole life.  Have I lived it? Not really.

Grace: a pleasing or attractive quality or endowment

                          favor or goodwill

                                         mercy; clemency; pardon

Wouldn’t we all like to be the recipients of grace?  The bearers of grace? The givers of grace?

When I hear “grace” I immediately get a reel of pictures whipping through my brain at lightning speed. In amongst those photos are my aunt, who died of breast cancer~ she lived grace; she exuded joy.  I see my daughters flowing effortlessly in their figure skating programs~ unaware that all eyes are on them.   I see my grandmothers hands folded in solemn prayer.  I see Ann.  I don’t know Ann personally , but I count her as my friend.  After reading her book One Thousand Gifts over and over I am just beginning to grasp what eucharisto really is: Our joy plus gratitude equals a life of grace. Powerful words~ a powerful concept.    And most recently, Grace has come to mean “Sara”.  I haven’t been reading her blog long and sadly, there won’t be any more blog posts from her.  Sara is dying.  You can read about it here.  In the arms of Jesus, she is laying her head down and He is healing her in his own perfect way.  Sara has chosen to live with joy instead of sadness and bitterness.  Housebound for the past 3 years she has managed to touch more people than most of us will ever really know.  In fact, in her dying, she is touching more lives.

You see, Sara has learned what most of us will never learn in our entire lives.  She has endured more pain in her frail body than a thousand men would put up with.  She has faced seclusion, loneliness, breathlessness.  In it all she has held on to Jesus.  As much as any one of us would have begged God~ pleaded and bartered, reasoned and whined….Sara has not.  Faith is not believing that you will get what you want when you want it.  Faith is believing that God’s wisdom and ways, His plans and provisions are enough for this moment and that He will see the working out of everything else in His time according to His will. It is tough. So tough especially when pain and death are part of the journey.  But know this: Sara has been fully aware of this walk she’s been taking with her Lord.  She has also been able to teach us all more about joy and grace and eternity than she ever could have in a whole, strong, healthy body.  We don’t always understand why God chooses who He does for tests and trials, but in this case I am more convinced than ever that He gave the world Sara for such a time as this.  Our world is in pain and dying. And we need to learn what it means to choose joy.

I have witnessed in these past few days and weeks a ground swell ~ a rumbling…it is coming from every corner of the earth.  Women standing together in prayer, across the miles ~ over the internet, on beaches, in hotels, in homes and in stadiums~ praying, singing praises and above all , giving thanks ~ you can get in on it here with the women of {in}courage

Something is stirring in the hearts of God’s people.  We are being awakened to a call.  A call to surrender, to have faith and to share grace.  Never before in my lifetime have I witnessed such a deep desire among God’s people to  love, care, share and live grace.  Never.  Until now.  We are on the verge of a revolution.  It is a revolution of grace.

 

~ listen to these songs~ Sara’s voice singing praises and thanks to her Heavenly Father: Who soon will be holding her in His everlasting arms~ you will be moved and touched and filled with grace.

Choosing joy~ like weeds on a sunny day: you pick it and it shines!

5 thoughts on “Revolution of Grace

  1. Thank you for this beautiful post. Sara helped me so much when I was in some of the hardest times with my own illness. She has been such a light here to so many. It’s amazing that even after her death she’s literally affecting millions. So awesome! God bless you friend! 🙂

  2. (((tears))) I found your post because I was looking for a picture – I was looking for a picture to put in my post – about Sara – oh how Our God moves… and you have hit it – dead center – something awakening – I hope – I pray – that we stay awake and. But I fear, we’ll fall asleep, we’ll fall right back asleep as briefly awoken from a dream – and will forget to choose joy. I hearted this post! God bless and keep you and each and every one of yours.

    • I too worry about apathy. But there is a stirring in the hearts of God’s people and I definitely feel like something has awakened for all of us. It’s one of the main reasons I chose to post about Sara specifically~ we must all carry on her legacy. It is important work. God bless you too!

  3. Beautifully written and so true. Sara is a gift of grace to all of us. I will miss her so much. Sara and I share a disease, and I looked up to her as a sort of “big sister” on this journey with Ankylosing Spondylitis.

    She has taught us all so much about the power of being content in all circumstances.
    Thank you for writing about Sara.

    • I pray that you will have the strength and grace to walk this journey as hard as it may be. Just found out that a friend of ours was diagnosed 2 weeks ago. Almost too coincidental that it came about now…but there are no coincidences with God.

Leave a Reply

