When you don’t feel it~ Praise Anyways

I’m feeling grouchy tonight.  I’ve been trying to figure a way to get myself out of this mood. Being miserable doesn’t achieve anything but more misery.  When I don’t know what to do, I go to the Word.  Even when it doesn’t tell me exactly what I want to hear it still gives me the answers I need.

In the Bible, the Israelites wandered a long time before they got HOME.  I feel their pain. I feel like I’ve been wandering in a desert for a long time and HOME always seems to be just out of reach.  David, as King, decreed that the people should worship and PRAISE as they brought the  Ark of the Covenant to its new HOME in the Temple in Jerusalem.  It’s a wonderful passage to read.  You can almost hear the cymbals and trumpets playing, the drums beating, the voices rising.  It is a symphony of PRAISE to the Lord.   As I read it tonight, I was drawn to one small portion:

1 Chronicles 16:

31Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad;
let them say among the nations, “The LORD reigns!”
32 Let the sea resound, and all that is in it;
let the fields be jubilant, and everything in them!
33 Let the trees of the forest sing,
let them sing for joy before the LORD,
for he comes to judge the earth.

34 Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
his love endures forever.

 

And I realized….I haven’t been watchful of God’s creation around me lately. Usually I am intent upon noticing every detail in the changing seasons and photographing them(to seemingly no end).  But I haven’t been doing that lately.  And  I miss it.

“Let the heavens rejoice”

“let the fields be jubilant”

 

“Let the trees of the forest sing”

his love endures forever. “

Sometimes, I just need to be reminded.

 

 

Leave a Reply

