My Christmas Mantle~ {Christmas Blog Linky Party}

I love how it all just works together and is so warm.

Every year I begin my Christmas decorating November 1 without fail. Typically it can take me 2-3 weeks to get it all done and even then I’m still tweaking and rearranging right up until Christmas. I love post-Christmas sales for all of my goodies and typically buy extras as they pop up on sale prior to Christmas.  This summer though, I decided to purge my enormous stash.  I rid our house of 5 artificial trees, massive amounts of garland,knick-knacks, snowmen, wreaths and whatchamacallits.  At the end of it all, I still have several Rubbermaid tubs full.   And November 1? Well, it came and went and I did nothing in the way of decorating. We wanted to be moved by now but that hasn’t happened. So, at the end of November I set up ONE tree and decorated the mantle.  That’s really it.  It still doesn’t feel very Christmasy but I am enjoying the simplicity of it all.

I chose a monochromatic theme. It’s amazing how you can pull off something different every year even if you don’t buy a thing!  I’ve developed a love off woodland-looking items and incorporated things I have into this simple display.

The pinecones were free~ picked them up off the ground when we lived in Calgary several years ago.

The Merry Christmas organza fabric was picked up at Fabricland about 3 years ago for less than $2 a metre! I have some of it wrapped around the base of the tree as well. It nicely covers up the tacky burgundy wall section behind the fireplace.

And my most recent(last year) Christmas decor item: The cardboard tree cutouts from IKEA. They are so awesome!

The trees are from a set of 3 purchased at Michael’s several years ago for less than 1/2 price.

The wooden carved snowmen was a 75% off deal about 4 years ago after Christmas.

The 2 reindeer were purchased at Kohl’s(man I love that place) at Christmas in Texas 2008. I think they were 70% off.

Check out all these other mantles in the Holiday Mantle Blogosphere Linky Party.

There’s a whole bunch(over 300) of mantles linked at Southern Hospitality too!

4 thoughts on “My Christmas Mantle~ {Christmas Blog Linky Party}

  1. I love the warmth & coziness the mantel exudes. Just beautiful! (It feels good to downsize, doesn’t it? We’re also in the process of selling our house & moving, like this month. I always end up moving during Christmas. Crazy, but good).

    Blessings,
    Jen

    • Thanks Jen. I wish I was moving. Never thought I’d say that but I’m ready for it. And I’d even set up my Christmas decorations on Boxing Day just for the fun of it!! Oh well. For now, I will enjoy my cozy mantle. 🙂 ~ Juanita.

Leave a Reply

