It’s Christmas Eve~ A message to you, my friends.

The 24hours that lead up to Christmas Eve always seem to catch me by surprise. Why? I don’t know. I’m a perpetual procrastinator and I suppose that’s at the core of it. But each and every year I have a to-do list that only gets longer the week before Christmas arrives and each and every year, half of those things never really come to fruition.  Do we care? Not on Christmas Eve!!

It’s like getting married…the day is set, the guests are coming and you’re getting married ready or not! I think I love that about Christmas. It’s not like Thanksgiving where it falls on a different date each year…it’s always December 25 and the minute it’s over I’m looking ahead a year to when we get to do it all over again. What do you love most about Christmas?    I love gathering.

I love that people gather together~ friends in homes, neighbours on streets, families parted by miles reunite.  Sisters hug.  Brothers laugh.  Grandmothers coo and cousins play.  Fathers cheer and sons smile.  I love the hustle and bustle of houses filled in every room, food scattered on corner tables and games opened and noisy.  The gathering is the best.

And so, as you gather I pray that you have fun and joy and laughter.  I pray that you will bless and be blessed. And above all , I pray that Jesus is the honored ,invited guest and that you take time to listen to Him too.  He is whispering to your heart and He is calling you……Calling you into a relationship with Him. It’s why He came. It’s why we celebrate. It’s what this DAY is all about.  We gather and we worship. That is the gathering I love the most.

 “O Come let us adore Him…for HE alone is worthy…Christ the Lord” 

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

One thought on “It’s Christmas Eve~ A message to you, my friends.

  1. Pingback: A Viral Post and Holy Ground | Once Upon a Prairie....

Leave a Reply

