“I Am In Here” ~Book Review

Me

I sometimes fear

That people cannot understand

That I hear.

And I know

That they don’t believe I go

To every extreme

To try to express

My need to talk.

If only they could walk

In my shoes

They would share my news:

I am in here.

And trying to speak every day

In some kind of way.

Though she cannot speak, Elizabeth Bonker writes poetry that shines a light on the hidden inner world of autism and the world around us.I Am in Here is the spiritual journey of a mother and daughter who refuse to give up hope, who celebrate their victories, and who keep moving forward despite the obstacles. Elizabeth’s poetry and her mother’s stirring storytelling combine in this inspirational book to proclaim that there is always a reason to take the next step–with hope.  ~(as posted on the Baker Publishing Group‘s website)

I chose this book as my first to read for my blog review debut.  I am SO glad I did.  What a phenomenal story and so inspiring.  Virginia Breen not only is an exceptional mother, as is seen in her anecdotes , but she is an incredibly gifted writer.  From the first page she had me hooked and drawn into the story of her family.   This is not an easy story to tell, but with short chapters, compelling memories and Elizabeth’s poetry it moves along quickly and keeps the reader interested and inspired from chapter to chapter.

What struck me most about this book is how Virginia herself answers the many questions she seems to have.  I wonder if she knows? The “whys” that she has; the question that she begs of God~ all I can say is that God clearly has a plan and has been leading her all through her life.  From the homeless man selling umbrellas to the blind student in college, God has been preparing Virginia her entire life for “such a time as this”.  In fact, I believe that she offers hope and encouragement to any parent of any child, whether they have disabilities or not.  We as mothers(and fathers) need to know how important it is to our kids that we advocate on their behalves.

Why people ask, “Why me?”

How people, on the other hand, ask, “How can I move forward?”[page 19] 

 She compels the reader to never give up, even on the darkest days when it seems like all hope is lost.

The two stories : that of a mother’s journey to save her child and the child’s journey to be heard and seen are different but beautiful companions in this book.  You will be encouraged, inspired, motivated and it will change your mind on Autism, learning disabilities, special needs and the way we approach these amazing people whom God has given to us. Mercy and Compassion have taken on entirely renovated meanings for me!  Definitely a book worth reading and passing on!

 …” When we lose our ability to experience joy, we lose our ability to hope. For me, hope is the handmaiden of joy.”  [page 213]

“….our most profound spiritual experiences are rarely found on the mountaintop.  They are usually inextricably woven in to the humbelst acts of service  for those in need.”            [page 215]

“Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group“.  

One thought on ““I Am In Here” ~Book Review

Leave a Reply

