Of Diary Entries and Facebook Statuses

Are you 12? Because 12 year old me would write a diary entry like this:  Today I got up and went to school. It was boring. I have homework now and then I have to do the dishes. I hope I can watch TV tonight. And then bed.

Ummm.  12 year old me was pretty normal for her age but really, it’s kind of embarrassing to read now.  Sadly, this is the type of Facebook status I see on the pages of 20-something and 30-something year olds.  I’m not even kidding you.  I wish I could cut and paste them into this post but I have a feeling you have similar posts from some of your friends.

So, what gives?  Is Facebook a diary where people feel the need to record their days’ events  so that they can go back and look at all the very mundane things they did?   I kind of think it’s not.  And anytime I find myself falling into that trap I delete, reorganize, refocus and sometimes ban myself from posting at all until I grow up and act my age.

Facebook is a conversation.  That’s what I love about it and that’s what it should be used for.  You would never go up to your friend and say, ” Hi, I just washed my dishes and now I’m going to go do a load of laundry.” Or at least I hope that’s not how you talk to your friends.   A conversation with friends is engaging and should draw them in.  As in~they will actually respond.  If your statuses are often left with no responses then you’re not really engaging a conversation. Now, that’s not to say that every status you post is going to have comments but certainly more than 60% of them should or you may have to rethink if you’re the talker or the listener.  Do you engage people or is it all about YOU and what YOU’RE doing in YOUR life?  Are you writing to your diary?

Let me make a suggestion to you.  If you want to record your days’ events so that someday you can look back and know what the weather was and what you had for supper and if your toddler pooped on the potty , go buy a notebook and start recording.  Leave Facebook to the conversationalists.

Leave a Reply

