Today I Focused {Five Minute Friday}

I haven’t blogged for a really long time and honestly I haven’t been able to just sit down and come up with something concise and thoughtful. There are lots of partial posts, starting lines, sentences and topics piling up in my drafts folder but I just haven’t been able to ………..FOCUS.  So what the hay………Lisa-Jo Baker and her fabulous crew of Five Minute Friday bloggers have peaked my interest just enough to think that maybe I need to jump in.  And wouldn’t you know, Lisa Jo’s topic for this week is indeed FOCUS.  So, here goes nothin’ : no editing, no stopping, no pre-planning, back-tracking or over-thinking…I’m just going to blog for 5 minutes straight…..

AND …BEGIN….

We moved into our new house almost 7 weeks ago.  I am at a loss for routine, structure and where I really belong.  I have lived in the city…a long time ago.  18 years ago actually.  But now, with 4 kids and their lives I find that it is different and I am lost.

Boxes are still packed and stacked.

The kitchen is a disaster! Too small, too disorganized, not enough cabinets! I can’t get creative in there.

Our bedroom? It’s a mess too. And all my husband has asked for is that things just get sorted out, put away and organized.  Does he know who he’s talking to?  Yikes.  Trouble. That’s me.  The unfocused problematic child of procrastination and distraction.

So today, I stopped. Stopped waiting. Stopping *Pinning*.  Stopped wondering, pondering, thinking and re-thinking. Today I did what I always do the first week after we move(we’ve done this 10 times before…did I mention that??)…

I rearranged the furniture in my living room.  Like 3 times.  I had to get it right. It wasn’t right . It was too straight, too long, too boring.   I had to change it up. I unwrapped pictures to hang.  I hung a rusted star garland.  I angled that TV cabinet and moved that ridiculously heavy pump organ.

I focused on one thing. One goal. One room.  And you know what?  I love it.  It feels like me. It feels like home. It feels like I want to do another room.  I have waited for this feeling for weeks.  And today it happened.

I focused.

AND…….Done. 🙂

Click on this image to see what Five Minute Fridays are all about. And maybe….you can link up the next time!

14 thoughts on “Today I Focused {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Yay! You did it! One room at a time…that’s all it takes. Of course, you know this after 10 + times –oofda! I can see how passion could get washed away and how it could bring ambition with it…

    So thrilled to meet you today (well, yesterday) and am so glad you decided to jump in on blogging AND rearranging all at once! Look at you!!!

    All for Him with hugs to you,
    Nikki

  2. OY! I HATE MOVING. I hate moving so much I don’t ask anyone to help me move because I don’t want to have to return the favor! (How’s that for being selfish?) But I am thrilled that you are now feeling the nesting bug bite. You’ll have to post pictures to share with us!

    But, if you ever do have to move to the Tampa Bay area of FL you can give me a shout. I will be there to help…because that’s what sisters in Christ, do! 😉 Blessings to you #fmfparty sister and praying you have TONS of energy to keep focusing one room at a time.

    • Thanks Mindy! But the likelihood of me moving to Tampa Bay is about as good as the NHL season starting on time. 😉 But ya…if/when I am settled I will post some pics. Right now, I am trying NOT to focus on the fact that this house has wallpaper in every room and I am not energetic enough to take it down so I have to find a way to work with it! Yuck! 😀

  3. You’re on move 10+? Yeah, I don’t blame you for the troubles with focussing. Glad to see that you got so much accomplished. That one step at a time method actually works. 😉

  4. It’s amazing how one room can make a difference in the way a home feels. Getting started is the hardest part- you’ve done it!

  5. We are neighbors today over at the Five Minute Friday! I loved your post. Having moved into a new house about two years ago, I know what it’s like to live out of boxes. I still have some boxes in my garage that haven’t been unpacked. Shhhh, don’t tell anyone. Praying you have a great week of FOCUS! And nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

