What a Difference a Mom Makes~Book Review {Dr.Kevin Leman}

I’ve had the privilege of seeing Dr. Leman speak in person on a couple of occasions.  He is just the best. A tender, funny, grandpa-type of wisdom just oozes out of him.

I have read quite a few of his books…he has published more than 30 I believe!  He always has such common-sense approach to the struggles and dilemmas of parenting.

I wasn’t sure that there was anymore that I could be told about parenting that hadn’t already been written.  When I started to read this book I was immediately drawn in by Dr. Leman’s good-natured  ribbing and his hands-on approach. Things I had wondered about, questioned and pondered began to make sense.

I only have one son and he is in his late teens. I almost felt sad that I had missed some key moments and times in his life. But there is redemption! It is never too late to learn and to redeem the time with our kids. What was surprising to me were the enlightening points that Dr. Leman makes about the importance of the mother~son relationship.  I learned a lot.  And it has already impacted my relationship with my son. There is so much good advice in these pages.

“Did you know that your son will fly high for days on just one compliment from you?  That’s because you’re so important in his world. But that compliment has to be sincere. Your son’s smart enough to know the difference. “‘ ~ Page 51

“Parents have been rearing adolescents for centuries. You’re not the only mom to go through this wild ride. You don’t have to reinvent the wheel…..It might now always be a ride you’re thrilled about. But you need to remain calm, even when the waves are starting to wash over the boat.” ~Page 160 

” If your son sees a close, loving relationship between you and your husband, he’s more likely to have the same type of relationship with his future wife.”~ Page 202

” How are you using your words? Your little boy or big boy is so much more tender inside than you’ll ever know. And the one he wants to please the most is you. What you say to him matters deeply and will be ingrained on the man he will become. “‘ ~ Page 237

This book is a MUST read for all mothers of boys no matter their age.  The book is laid out into sections on age, your marriage relationship, the family dynamics, and what boys are all about. I found it to be a great resource ~almost like an encyclopedia for boys. There are boxes with things to remember and a few anecdotes about famous “boys” and their moms.  A really great , great tool in the raising of boys into men.

“Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group”.

Leave a Reply

