The Problem with Santa Part 3{Day 26}

Santa, it’s not you. It’s me. I’m sorry to tell you this but, it’s just not working out. You’ve become, well, high maintenance. And I know, I know~it’s really not your fault. It’s mine. But, I think it’s time we went our separate ways.  I wish you well but I don’t want you coming around my friends either. It could get awkward. 

 

Clearly, this isn’t the sentiment of most Santa-loving people. Maybe it should be?  I’m not sure.

I really don’t know where we go from here. Santa is a problem. He’s a BIG problem and the ones who say he’s not are lying to themselves. Even those who say Santa is just for kids~lies.  Explain then, why from about November 30 to December 24 fathers and mothers will take several hours out of their day to stand in line in a mall. With cranky, hot, tired kids.  Dressed up little kids in dresses and vests and dress pants and fancy shoes~uncomfortable little kids who are obviously not into whatever their parents are dishing out.  I’ve seen it over and over again.

Children being forced to sit in the lap of a perfect stranger. For the most part 97.9% of you have no clue who this feller is that your children are snuggling with. He might be the nicest man in the world…or he might not. But there you are, plopping your pride and joy into the hands of Old St.Nick, the shoe salesman, who is happy to take your $20 (or whatever it costs) and move on to the next ripe candidate.  Will he remember that Johnny wants a mandolin? Will he care that Susie wants a tutu? No.  Is he making a list and checking it twice? He is not.  It is actually very funny.  Oh the lengths we go to in order to satisfy our silly fantasies.

I don’t know what you should do this Christmas with Santa.

I do know that sometimes truth hurts and always truth is freeing. 

Struggling to maintain a certain level of mythology and magic as part of your Christmas traditions may be exactly what you are doing and will continue to do. That is completely fine in the context of the season, the holidays, the madness of it all. However, this is  totally counterintuitive to a Redeeming Christmas.

Seeking a redeemed Christmas is seeking why Jesus came. If Christmas is going to be about Jesus and His birth;His redemption for mankind in the sacrifice of becoming man, then Christmas can’t be about Santa.

John 14:6  Jesus said, “‘I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.“‘

John 8:32 “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.

A Redeemed Christmas is not about Santa.  A Redeemed Christmas is all about Jesus.

(I would just like to add that I was going to post something softer and more liberal. I had intended to give permission~`like I have that authority’~ for people to go ahead and make Santa the focus and parade him around and have fun with it like always….but I was sorely convicted.  I prayed about this.  A redeemed Christmas is all about Jesus. That is what this series is about. I am totally fine with those who choose the other route~the Santa way. I am not here to judge. This is simply what I believe, as I have read the Word and prayed about it for our family. I’m sharing this with those of you who are seeking a Christ-focused Christmas.)

For the previous two posts on The Problem with Santa click here and here.

If you would like to see all of my posts on a Redeemed Christmas, click here .

5 thoughts on “The Problem with Santa Part 3{Day 26}

  1. I forgot to add 🙂 …. Volunteering is another way that our family has made Christmas meaningful. We have volunteered to serve Christmas Dinner at a homeless shelter and this year we are volunteering and helping to pack boxes for Operation Christmas Child. I truly don’t think one needs to throw the baby out with the bathwater… unless that is your conviction. Again… balance!!!

    • Becky , have you read all my posts in this series?? 🙂 Hahahaha! Exactly, volunteering, giving, reaching out, OCC and many other ideas have been addressed….like I said…this is just ONE day of 31…..sort of unpacking all the things we do and figuring out if they have a proper place in our celebrations or if we’ve let some stuff slide(like helping out more) and made the emphasis more about Santa and gifts. This is just my way of engaging conversation and getting others to think too. And I’ve learned a lot about myself in the process. 🙂

      • Yup… I was just agreeing and adding my thoughts 🙂 We all have our journeys of re-evaluating things at times in our lives. These times are VERY important and I am proud of you for the journey you are going on !! xoxoxo You have made me think , as you always do :). LOVE YOU, Friend.

  2. I agree that the emphasis of Christmas needs to be Jesus! With that being said, I also agree with the “fun” of Christmas too. We (my growing up family (missionaries in Africa) and MY family) always left cookies and milk (or whatever Dad liked LOL) for Santa, food for the reindeer, my husband would put deer prints in the snow for the kids to see, my dad would “ho, ho , ho” behind closed doors as he put out the presents (we KNEW it was him) under the tree. All this was accompanied along with the reading of the Christmas story, advent lighting , Christmas Eve and Christmas Day Services. All emphasizing what the season was all about. I believe a balance and understanding is important. We all know our limits and how we think and what WE need to do in order help Christmas mean what it is supposed to mean. I think decorations ( of which I love to put up) can be just as distracting as Santa Clause. It is a matter of perspective.

    • Yes, I agree. And that is why I did this series. Every day I have tried to give another idea or solution on the path to Redeeming Christmas(which is what this series is about). Clearly those who celebrate Santa and all that will continue to do so as they see fit. This isn’t really a witch hunt for anything different but more so for people to look at what their actions say about their beliefs. As Jenna pointed out in an earlier comment, other world religions don’t really “get” us Christians. We have confused what Christmas really is.

Leave a Reply

