It’s Complicated{Day 31 of 31 Days to Redeeming Christmas}

You see that little status that notifies you of  a relationship change on Facebook.  “It’s complicated”. Immediately you think that clearly things are not okay.  Someone is thinking of leaving? Someone wants to leave? The status of a relationship is big,big news on social media.  Friends ask if you are okay.  Family treads softly around your tender heart. But everyone is confused.  What does it really mean?

It’s complicated.

This is how my relationship with Jesus is.  Don’t get me wrong. I love Him with all my heart.  I’ve known Him my whole life. I’ve never once doubted that He is who He says He is.  I’ve never doubted His promises.  But, well, sometimes we’re just roommates.  Sometimes we don’t talk much and I feel like He doesn’t really understand me. Other times we laugh and talk for hours.  I tell Him everything and He responds in every way.  But, it’s complicated.  It’s hard. Sometimes it’s just hard to know where I stand.  And my faith is a bit fuzzy.  I fuss about things that are so insignificant.  I whine, complain, lament and page through the sorry-Psalms(as I like to call them).  The wailing of David in all of his torment seems fitting often.  I’m sure Jesus feels the complexity of my inconsistencies too.

Christmas is like that for me.

These past 31 days have been really eye-opening for me to understand what I want out of Christmas.  What do I really need to get out of this relationship? Do I want to walk away? No.  I love Christmas. I adore the candles and the carols. I crave the shortbread and the singing.  I find peace in the snowfalls and the Shepherds abiding.

Abiding.

Maybe that’s where I am.  Abiding in this new found relationship that Christmas isn’t what it used to be. Not what I thought it should be and perhaps, I’m just finding a shepherd kind of peace in where we are at.

Christmas is complicated. There’s no doubt about that.

But my desire for Christmas is not.

What I wish for a redeemed Christmas is this:

  • simpler gifts
  • longer evenings spent by the fire
  • meandering phone calls and letters from friends
  • small gifts for precious folks
  • late night walks on lit up streets
  • sugar cookies and milk for me and the mister and maybe the kids too.
  • smiles on neighbour’s faces
  • hugs from loved ones
  • joy on faces
  • no shopping stresses
  • no built up expectations
  • Jesus

I won’t be doing everything on all those posts from this series.  I will do some.  The point isn’t to do it all. The point is to  take back; renovate; redeem all of the Christmases we’ve spent worrying and hurrying.  We redeem them when we listen to the still small voice.

1 Kings 19:

The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.

In the still,small voice of a baby wrapped in swaddling clothes we find peace, rest and hope.

This is what a redeemed Christmas looks and feels like.

Now go and tell the whole world.

***At the top of this page you will see the link to 31 Days to Redeeming Christmas. In there you will find my “manifesto” of sorts for what Christmas means to me as well as links to all 31 posts in this series. Happy reading and Merry Christmas! ****

10 thoughts on “It’s Complicated{Day 31 of 31 Days to Redeeming Christmas}

  1. I posted Merry Briken Christmas on my FB wall in Christmas Eve, I actually had shared it from a girlfriends post. It seems to have upset a man who referred to the writer as a feminist. Come to find out he had read beyond the first 8 words before he went on the attack. I thought I’d pop over to see what you’re all about. After reading several of your post I can say that I am blessed to have stumbled upon you’re site and if it means that I have to take a few insults for reposting your wonderful glimpses into the state of the human heart, so be it.
    Be blessed and be brave – your words are needed, keep writing!

    Dee

    • Wow DLynn! Thanks for giving me a 2nd look! I must afmit that a couple of years ago the word Feminist may have offended me, but I no longer care about labels. Maybe the man who was upset will come around. 😉

  2. Pingback: A Viral Post and Holy Ground | Once Upon a Prairie....

  3. I have gleaned so much from your posts this month–have come away a bit clearer and more motivated to be intentional this year. Timely set of thought-inducers, as we just found out some big news on Christmas guests. I think if the Lord had not prepared me to respond joyfully(in large part due to your posting!), I think I might have felt cheated….frustrated….whiny. 🙂
    Thank you so much for sharing your journey and struggles and convictions. Blessings!
    ~april

    • Oh April~~ I’m so glad that the Lord led us both. I will pray for you to have an open heart. I am one of those people that hates the *surprises* that put me in a bad mood or change how *I* want to do Christmas. Waking up Christmas morning to dread and anxiety is brutal~I have walked that road and I don’t wish to do it ever again. I hope that you find a way to redeem Christmas for your whole family that propels you to anticipate each day with joy and excitement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

