Once Upon A Time I Had Babies

Babies,babies, babies!!! Listen people, I’m past the point of no return when it comes to having babies but oh my, all of these people having babies are making me nostalgic for my sweet little bundles.

I willingly admit, I am a lover of babies. I love their smell. I love how their heavy heads fall over the crook of my arm when they’re passed out from breast milk overdose. I love how they giggle and coo and I love that you can hold them and they can’t run away! OH give me a baby to hold!
Nieces and nephews and friends and all manner of people are having babies!
My last baby~she had a rough start. My nursing time was spent watching too many monitors.

My last baby~she had a rough start. My nursing time was spent watching too many monitors.

I was thinking a while ago about starting a mommy and baby blog and it’s something I’m considering again. Not because I’m a know it all but because there are a lot of moms who aren’t learning to trust their most precious resource: their instinct.  Your mommy-gut is your best friend and you should always trust it.  I read a quote earlier today that said,

” Doubt your doubts before you doubt yourself.”

This should be the mantra for all new moms! We are so hard on ourselves! We doubt the questions and the worries but we never should. We are moms and we know our babies better than any nurse or doctor or well-meaning friend.

 

I had 4 babies, all by c-section. I didn’t sleep through the night for 7 years. I nursed, bottle fed, gave pablum at 10 days to one , made my own formula for one, couldn’t stop nursing one, suffered mastitis, post-op infections, a baby in NICU and a few other common new-mom crises. Yep, I think I’ve earned some stripes of honor….or maybe that’s what all those stretch marks are for.  Whatever the case, I’ve seen it, done it , been there.  So what would a mommy and baby blog look like? You tell me. What are your questions and concerns. What are those things you wish someone would have told you? (We all have a truck load of those, don’t we?)   I’m also thinking of inviting some guest posts from current moms in the thick of it. Let’s face it, times have changed and I may be a little rusty on what’s acceptable(whatever) and what the current issues are. And I know I have forgotten how tired “MOM-tired” is.  No one knows Mom-Tired until they’ve been a mom.

No glamorous shots for this mom~meeting my firstborn for the first time more than 2 hours after he was born. Surreal. And oh, so young.

No glamorous shots for this mom~meeting my firstborn for the first time more than 2 hours after he was born. Surreal. And oh, so young.

Mommies unite! Sign up! 6 weeks of mommy-baby blogs coming up!

One thought on “Once Upon A Time I Had Babies

Leave a Reply

