An Open Letter To TroubleFace Mom

It seems all of the internet has gone mad.

First of all there’s all these open letters to bloggers and authors and people you love and people you love to hate and good grief…..what the what??

So, I decided to write my own.

Dear TroubleFace Mom,

You know who you are. You are the one with the 266,000 + hits on your blog in the past 12 days. You are the one who apparently knows all the things about Halloween.

And for goodness’ sake, what’s up with all the trolls commenting? OH, wait, they’re not trolls? They’re REAL people? People actually think that way?

Heaven help us.

So this is what happened in my little blogging world last week:  I was limping along through my 31 Days of Facebook 101(incidentally the dumbest topic EVER for 31 days) . I was behind on posts and I wasn’t reading any other blogs like a good little blogger should. When all of the sudden I get messages from YOU of all people asking me what the heck is going on with your blog. I assumed trolls. I assumed spammers. Well, I assumed wrong.

It seems your little post from a year ago struck a nerve with someone. And they told two friends and they told two friends and so on and so on and……

And so you and I proceeded to weed through comments and figure out what to do with this and how it would play out. You were sure on Thursday that it was waning and that everyone would forget.  I was thinking it was only the beginning.  On Saturday when your Facebook page reached 300(after only 100 the weekend before) I was impressed with the level of civility among your new followers and friends. Good group there.  And then yesterday, you crossed over the 600 FB likes and I sat here dumbfounded.

How does this happen?

How does one go from internet obscurity to being the poster-girl for viral blogging in one week?

I know the answer- one has to be sassy without being cocky, brave without being rude, truthful while being diplomatic and gracious without being a doormat. You’ve answered the call and done it brilliantly.

And now you know what? I have new followers? Poor them. What will happen when they realize I’m not nearly as clever or witty as you. What will they say when they learn I post about lame things like school lunches and final exams for teenagers? 

And that OTHER little blog we started in the spring? The Mothering Well– all of us mothers have neglected our posts because I’m sure we’re all mothering WELL….right? Are we?  The fact that your name is on our blog has now sent us new followers there too.  So what are we to do TroubleFace mom?  You know that look your kids give you when they’re in trouble? Well, that’s the look I’m giving you now.  So now you are TroubleFace Friend.

I’m just glad you can’t ditch me for my lack of blogging prowess or less than diplomatic gracious comments on your blog.  You can’t because you’re stuck with me for life. Lifers we are.

But can you do me one favour?  Share the wealth? I mean clearly you have WAY too many followers to keep up with…so send a few over to me: Once Upon a Prairie . This is me shamelessly using you to further my agenda. That’s what friends are for, right?

TrobleFace Mom, our friend Donna on her wedding day in August 2011 and ME!

TrobleFace Mom, our friend Donna on her wedding day in August 2011 and ME!

Oh, and if I haven’t said it already, let me say it here: thanks for being friends with the old ladies- you keep us young and thinking! 😉

Sincerely,

Prairie Juan of Once Upon a Prairie

9 thoughts on “An Open Letter To TroubleFace Mom

  1. hi juanita– thanks for introducing yourself, i’m loving your blog. i want to hear about school lunches and teenagers exams and facebook and all of that! i am also a country-ish girl, (from pennsylvania farmland: not from a farm. just next to it so close i could smell it. 😉 who is living in seattle going on 12 years now, which is crazy to me. how did that happen? and all the while, right under our noses while we were trying to figure out what to do with ourselves, our toddler became a teen, a seattle city-kid/ mole-child. and that crazy-land is where we are at every single day. my husband and i are scrambling, why are there only a few years left when these are the years he doesn’t want to be around us anymore? (wait, where are you going? what about family movie night?) also: because i have no other kids to distract me from him, it’s like pre-empty-nesting goin’ on over here. lots-o-time on my hands in mamma-land. which makes me realize: i need to get a job/ have no skills. ugh. anyways. looking forward to more!

  2. Pingback: Dear Sarah~ Jesus Made a Feminist out of Me | Once Upon a Prairie....

Leave a Reply

