It’s Pretty, but it’s far from Perfect- Home Tour Link Up!

I’m tired.

Like, 3 a.m. bedtime tired. Don’t ask- long story. However, I managed to snap some pics of my living room when it was dark and cozy last night. Never mind the pile of cards on the coffee table, or the crap on the floor. Never mind I usually have so much more done by December 16. Whatever. Life is what it is and sometimes we gotta roll with it. I usually have my Christmas village set up. But it’s been a couple years and it’s still in boxes. Maybe next year?

For this year, I’m decorating as I go. We’ve been painting and ripping up carpet in this old house. But with snow falling I needed to have that cozy feeling inside. And cozy to me is red on white, deer, antlers, twinkly lights and candlelight. ย Cozy is blankets on every chair and couch, a decorated tree, carols on repeat and something that is plaid.

We only have the living room, front hall and dining room done but it’s something. And I’m okay with scaled back, simpler and no-pressure-to-do-more this year.

I will do a few more things this week so check back on Friday!

Also: DEER, RED PLAID and ANTLERS- I’m in love! ๐Ÿ™‚

The only thing "Christmasy visible from the street". *sigh*

The only thing “Christmasy visible from the street”. *sigh*

Red twinkly lights- when all else fails! And that ecru furniture throw? It's a bed spread from the thrift store. $7. :)  Red plaid throw? $4 thrift store buy.

Red twinkly lights- when all else fails! And that ecru furniture throw? It’s a bed spread from the thrift store. $7. ๐Ÿ™‚ Red plaid throw? $4 thrift store buy.

Tree has been decorated over a couple weeks with deer, antlers and book page cones/pinwheels I've made. Haven't pulled out the *actual* tree decor yet!

Tree has been decorated over a couple weeks with deer, antlers and book page cones/pinwheels I’ve made. Haven’t pulled out the *actual* tree decor yet!

Twinkly lights on antlers we've had in the garage for years. My favourite part by far. And that newly painted fireplace? LOVE it.

Twinkly lights on antlers we’ve had in the garage for years. My favourite part by far. And that newly painted fireplace? LOVE it.

 

IMG_7299 (1024x683)

Redeemed Christmas blocks from Dayspring, stocking hangers from Target, dollar store deer, candle pedestals from thrift store and stockings are 3 years old from Superstore.

Redeemed Christmas blocks from Dayspring, stocking hangers from Target, dollar store deer, candle pedestals from thrift store and stockings are 3 years old from Superstore.

I made this book page wreath for a sale. It didn't sell- it's now mine. And I love the silvery deer head! I didn't plan any of this and yet it all happens to work. The red flannel over the canvas painting is from my fabric stash.

I made this book page wreath for a sale. It didn’t sell- it’s now mine. And I love the silvery deer head! I didn’t plan any of this and yet it all happens to work. The red flannel over the canvas painting is from my fabric stash.

IMG_7306 (1024x683)

I set my table for y'all this morning!

I set my table for y’all this morning!

 

IMG_7316 (1024x683)

Laminated map from Costco- $7, manila tags and Sharpie for the words, dollar store garland to frame it.

Laminated map from Costco- $7, manila tags and Sharpie for the words, dollar store garland to frame it.

 

 

Merry Christmas organza that I've used as a tree skirt for years is now draped over the window. Curio cabinet not even filled. We JUST finished painting.

Merry Christmas organza that I’ve used as a tree skirt for years is now draped over the window. Curio cabinet not even filled. We JUST finished painting.

 

The other view- china cabinet which is a collector of stuff. Seems like if there's a place to put something, something gets put.

The other view- china cabinet which is a collector of stuff. Seems like if there’s a place to put something, something gets put.

 

 

Buffet at the front entrance for another vignette.

Buffet at the front entrance for another vignette.

 

 

I love my red thermoses which I bought a year ago for $5 at a garage sale.

I love my red thermoses which I bought a year ago for $5 at a garage sale.

 

IMG_7339 (853x1280)

Couldn't figure out what to do with my card holder- and then....this!

Couldn’t figure out what to do with my card holder- and then….this!

Front hall.

Front hall.

 

 

Reality- something on the floor. Welcome to real life.

Reality- something on the floor. Welcome to real life.

Dayspring blocks.  Opened up this hall closet that was previously an eyesore behind plywood doors.

Dayspring blocks. Opened up this hall closet that was previously an eyesore behind plywood doors.

IMG_7349 (853x1280)

This wasn't planned- the red, flannel, grey, deer, woodland theme....it just morphed...over several years.

This wasn’t planned- the red, flannel, grey, deer, woodland theme….it just morphed…over several years.

 

And this- this is what happens when stockings get too close to heat. It happened 2 years ago in our last house with a gas fireplace.  Perfectly imperfect, right?

And this- this is what happens when stockings get too close to heat. It happened 2 years ago in our last house with a gas fireplace. Perfectly imperfect, right?

 

 

Merry Christmas from our house to yours!!

Merry Christmas from our house to yours!!

Linking up with The Nester for this year’s home tour. Check it out: 2013 Tour of Homes

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Pretty, but it’s far from Perfect- Home Tour Link Up!

Leave a Reply

